Book review: The Perfect Neighbours by Rachel Sargeant

09844AE5-6F2B-42C0-8D52-55034CFC2957

The blurb

The perfect neighbours tell the perfect lies…

*** A TOP TEN KINDLE BESTSELLER ***

A dark and twisty psychological thriller from a rising star in the genre, perfect for fans of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR. When Helen moves into an exciting new neighbourhood, she finds herself in a web of evil with no escape.

Behind the shutters lies a devastating secret…

When Helen moves abroad with her loving husband Gary, she can’t wait to meet her fellow expat teachers from the local International School. But her new start is about to become her worst nightmare…

As soon as the charming family across the way welcome Helen into their home, she begins to suspect that all is not as it seems. Then Gary starts to behave strangely and a child goes missing, vanished without a trace.

When violence and tragedy strike, cracks appear in the community, and Helen realises her perfect neighbours are capable of almost anything…

My review

I was immediately attracted by the closely-confined ex-pat neighbourhood concept and couldn’t wait to see what would unravel in this claustrophobic situation. I love books where the main character is out of their comfort zone and being in a foreign country maximises Helen’s sense of isolation.

Helen’s a likeable character who’s doing her best to make her situation work but is she right to place her trust in the man the rest of the neighbours hate? She copes admirably with the horrendous incident and turns detective to try and figure out who was responsible (including herself).

The setting was great and I enjoyed the first half as you get to know the different neighbours and their suburban dramas while becoming increasingly aware of a dark backstory and gathering menace. Then wham! Something catastrophic happens. The pace picks up, the mystery deepens, revelations unfold and you fear for Helen’s safety.

I hated being parted from this book until I’d finished it because I had to know what would happen – and I wasn’t disappointed. It’s the first book I’ve read by Rachel Sargeant but I’ll now be catching up on her others.

If you’re looking for a domestic noir story with a fresh twist, I’d highly recommend this one.

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think?

The Perfect Neighbours is published by Killer Reads and is available as en ebook and paperback (333 pages). You can buy it here 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s