The story behind the story – Cristina Hodgson on her debut novel A Little of Chantelle Rose

With her first novel A little of Chantelle Rose about to hit the bookshelves in two days, Cristina Hodgson has popped into the coffee shop to talk about her feelings

IMG_4755

 

Hi there, Cristina – what can I get you?
Hi Katy, thank you. I’d love something to eat. However it will have to be lactose free please, as I’ve just recently been told that I’m lactose intolerant.

That’s fine. When my daughter turned vegan last year I discovered a recipe for a dairy-free carrot cake which is the best I’ve ever tasted. Congratulations on your book! How does it feel to see your novel go out into the world?
It’s a dream come true and I’m obviously thrilled, but also very nervous. This is like the birth of my third child. Chantelle Rose isn’t about me or my life but it’s a part of me. And this part of me is now out there for all to read and criticise, and that alone is nerve-wracking. I’m aware that everyone has different literary tastes, I just hope that people who do read Chantelle Rose, or any novel, understand that behind the words sits an author who’s shed more than one tear to finish the text and sweated more than most marathon runners do. The finish line in this case is when you type “The End.”

I know exactly how you feel! What gave you the idea for the story?
After graduating from Loughborough University with a degree in PE and Sports Science, I travelled and worked in various jobs. One of these was as an extra in a British-produced gangster film which was filmed in Nerja, Spain. It goes without saying that my sport mechanics and kinetic energy knowledge weren’t put to maximum potential in this part-time job. But it was certainly a fun and unique experience, and most importantly it gave me an idea.
A year later I sat down and started writing, and within three months Chantelle Rose was born.

What next? Do you have a new writing project?
Funny you ask, the only thing I can reveal is that my current WIP is a bit of a secret at the moment. If you read my debut novel you’ll understand why.

I’m intrigued! Good luck with it anyway and I hope A Little of Chantelle Rose is a huge success.

IMG_4756About the book

At the age of twenty-four, Chantelle Rose has all a city girl can expect: a tiny bed-sit in South London, a lousy poorly-paid job, a tyrannical boss, and quite a few exes added to an ever-growing list. Desperate for change, she becomes an extra in a seedy crime film. When that leads to the opportunity of a lifetime – a role to play with a million dollars to win and seemingly nothing to lose – she accepts without thinking twice. After all, what could possibly go wrong?

 

Find out more at Cristina’s online launch party this Thursday May 4th on this link:
https://www.facebook.com/events/562545000610837/?ti=icl

 

IMG_4754Where to find Cristina

http://www.cristinahodgson.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HodgsonCristina/
Twitter: @HodgsonCristina
e-mail: hello@cristinahodgson.com
Amazon buy link: myBook.to/chantellerose

Leave a Reply

