Book review: the perfect betrayal by Lauren North

51VH7nQRWSL
Today is publication day for the digital version of the perfect betrayal. It’s no secret that I’m a big fan of domestic noir so I was thrilled to be sent a review copy.

Consumed by grief after the death of her husband Mark in a plane crash, Tess is struggling to keep life normal for her young son Jamie. Having moved into Mark’s old family home shortly before his death, she’s cut off from her old support network and to add to her problems Mark’s brother Ian is insisting that he’s owed a large sum of money from the estate. When grief counsellor Shelley offers to help Tess thinks she’s found a friend but as events unfold she’s forced to ask herself how well did she really know her husband, is she being followed, and is Jamie safe?

I loved everything about this book. It’s a masterfully-woven tale which piles on the tension.

The story’s told in different viewpoints with some transcripts of interviews conducted while Tess is in hospital, which I found very effective. Although I wasn’t completely convinced by the final twist from a logistical point of view, I found this such a compelling read and will look out for more books by this author.

I’d highly recommend it to fans of Claire Douglas, Lucie Whitehouse and Louise Jensen.

My thanks to Transworld Digital, Penguin Random House and Netgalley for a copy of this book which has not influenced my opinion.

The Perfect Betrayal is available in ebook and paperback here


Leave a comment